Make your own free website on

    Sakya College

Back    Home



The College follows a basic curriculum that was approved by a convocation of Sakyapa scholars. This is essentially the study of the eighteen most important texts of Sakya scholasticism, together with their Indian and Tibetan commentaries.

Prajnaparamita (Perfection of Wisdom)

1 Abhisamayalamkara of Maitreya

2 Mahayanasutralamkara

3 Madhyantavibhanga

4 Dharmadharmatavibhanga

5 Uttaratantrashastra of Maitreya

6 Bodhicaryavatara of Shantideva

Vinaya (Monastic Discipline)

7 Pratimokshasutra

8 Vinayasutra of Gunaprabha

III Madhyamaka (MiddleWay Philosophy)

9 Mulamadhyamakakarika of Nagarjuna

10 Madhyamakavatara of Chandrakirti

11 Catuhsataka of Aryadeva

IV Abhidharma (Phenomenology)

12 Abhidharmakosa of Vasubandhu

13 Abhidharmasamuccaya of Asanga

V Pramana (Logic and Epistemology)

14 Pramanasamuccaya of Dignaga

15 Pramanavartika of Dharmakirti

16 Pramanaviniscaya of Dharmakirti

17 Tshad ma rigs gter of Sakya Pandita

VI Trisamvara (Three Vows)

18 Sdom gsum rab dbye of Sakya Pandita

In addition there are also taught treatises on various other branches of learning, such as Tantric Philosophy, ritual, grammar, poetics, calligraphy and so forth. The College also offers classes in English language, and advanced students are given practice in the translation of texts from Tibetan into English.

The College is in session about nine and one-half months per year, with two and one-half months of vacation during the summer. Classes are conducted during six and one-half days per week. A typical school day starts at 5.45 in the morning and ends at 9.30 in the night