Make your own free website on

            Sakya Throne  Holders


The following is the list of all the 41 throne holders of the Sakyapa Order of Tibetan Buddhism. The first throne holder of the Sakyapa Order of Tibetan Buddhism was Khon Konchog Gyalpo who was enthroned in 1073 which is more than nine centuries ago.

But one must remember that the history of the Khon lineage dates even further back and also that even their relation with Buddhism begins with the very founding of the first sangha in Tibet. One of the seven first Tibetan people to be ordained into the Sangha was also a member of this precious lineage too.